7/7 – taking a moment to remember

I went to two of the places that were hit in the 7/7 bombings of a decade ago. I wanted to pay my respects and remember. 

First stop Kings Cross. I pass by the memorial plaque several times a week and today it was respectfully cordoned off with red rope. It allowed for some lovely bouquets and wreaths to be placed underneath without being trampled by the communiting and tourist masses.

Img_2759Img_2761Img_2758Img_2760

I read the cards and messages and actually held back a tear. The wreath from the BTP was particularly emotional.

Second stop was a few days later, but I walked through Russell Square, scene of the terrible bus bombing, and saw the Oak tree which was planted there in memory. The London Underground wreath was magnificent. I felt proud:

Img_2796Img_2797

7/7 – taking a moment to remember

Leave a Reply

